

Special Council Meeting Minutes | 23rd October 2023

Disclaimer

Members of the public should note that in any discussion regarding any planning or other application that any statement or intimation of approval made by any member or officer of the Shire of Quairading during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Quairading. No action should be taken on any item discussed at a Council meeting prior to written advice on the resolution of the Council being received.

Any plans or documents contained in this document may be subject to copyright law provisions (*Copyright Act 1968*, as amended) and the express permission of the copyright owner(s) should be sought prior to the reproduction.

CONTENTS

ITEM 1	OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS	.3
ITEM 2	ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	.3
ITEM 3	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	.4
ITEM 4	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT	.5
ITEM 5	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT	.6
ITEM 6	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME	.7
ITEM 7	CLOSURE	.7

SHIRE OF QUAIRADING

Swearing in of Elected Members

The Acting Chief Executive Officer welcomed Elected Members and Visitors and advised that the order of proceedings would be the swearing-in of Elected Members followed by the opening of the Special Council Meeting, the election of the Shire President and the election of the Deputy Shire President.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer also welcomed and introduced Mrs Shirley Stacy, Justice of the Peace, who would witness the Declaration of Office for all Councillors as well as the Declaration of Office for the newly elected Shire President and Deputy Shire President.

The Swearing-In ceremony for all elected members was conducted prior to the commencement of the meeting and was officiated by the Acting Chief Executive Officer and witnessed by Mrs Shirley Stacye, Justice of the Peace.

The Special Council Meeting minutes of meeting held on 23rd October 2023 commencing at 6.16 pm.

ITEM 1 OPENING & ANNOUNCEMENTS

In accordance with Schedule 2.3 (3) of the *Local Government Act 1995,* the CEO is to preside at the meeting until the office of Shire President is filled.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer opened the Meeting at 6.16 pm.

"Before we start our meeting, I would like to acknowledge that we are meeting on Noongar/Ballardong land. We pay respect to the original custodians of the land...past, present and future. I welcome you all here today for this meeting."

ITEM 2 ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Councillors

Cr BR Cowcill Cr FC Faltyn Cr JC Hayes Cr JN Haythornthwaite Cr JR Hippisley Cr PD Smith Cr TJ Stacey

Council Officers

Ms NJ Ness	Acting Chief Executive Officer
Ms SE Caporn	Executive Manager, Works & Services
Ms T Brown	Executive Manager, Corporate Services
Ms M Haeusler	Executive Officer

Justice of the Peace

Ms Shirley Stacey

Observers/Visitor

Liz Smith Mary Stacey Anthony Hippisley Violet Faltyn

Apologies

Nil

Leave of Absence Previously Granted

Nil

ITEM 3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil

ITEM 4 ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Acting Chief Executive Officer advised that nominations for the Office of Shire President must be in writing to the CEO in accordance with Schedule 2.3, Division 2, Part 8 (3) of the *Local Government Act 1995*. The following written nominations had been received:

- Cr Jonathan Hippisley nominated Cr Peter Smith

The Acting Chief Executive Officer called for any further nominations:

- Cr Becky Cowcill nominated Cr Jo Haythornthwaite.

Cr Smith and CR Haythornthwaite verbally accepted their nominations.

As there was more than one nomination received, the Acting Chief Executive Officer advised that a secret ballot would now be held to determine the Office of Shire President. The order of the candidate names appearing on the ballot paper would be the order in which the nominations were received. The order being as follows:

- Cr Peter Smith
- Cr Jo Haythornthwaite

Ballot papers were then drawn up, authenticated by the Acting Chief Executive Officer and distributed to all Elected Members.

When all votes had been cast, the Acting Chief Executive Officer counted the votes. The election process was conducted by the Acting CEO and the Executive Officer, independently witnessed by the Justice of the Peace, Mrs Shirley Stacey.

In accordance with Regulation 11F of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998, the Acting Chief Executive Officer advised that Cr Peter Smith had received 3 votes and Cr Jo Haythornthwaite had received 4 votes.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Jo Haythornthwaite the successful candidate, having received the highest number and more then 50% of votes and was therefore elected to the Office of Shire President for a term of two (2) years concluding in October 2025.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite proceeded to take the Declaration of Office of Shire President officiated by the Acting Chief Executive Officer and witnessed by Mrs Shirley Stacey, Justice of the Peace.

Cr Jo Haythornthwaite assumed the Chair at 6.25pm.

ITEM 5 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Shire President continued the election process for the Office of Deputy Shire President.

The Shire President advised that the following written nominations had been received:

- Cr Jonathan Hippisley nominated Cr Trevor Stacey
- Cr Becky Cowcill nominated Cr Trevor Stacey

The Shire President called for any further nominations and there were no further nominations received.

Cr Trevor Stacey verbally accepted his nomination.

As there was only one Councillor nominated, the Shire President declared Cr Trevor Stacey the successful candidate, having been elected unopposed to the Office of Deputy Shire President for a term of two (2) years concluding in October 2025.

Cr Trevor Stacey proceeded to take the Declaration of Office of Deputy Shire President officiated by the Shire President and witnessed by Mrs Stacey, Justice of the Peace.

The Shire President asked the Deputy Shire President if he would like to say a few words.

Cr Stacey replied that he was thrilled to be elected as Deputy Shire President and congratulated Cr Haythornthwaite on her election as Shire President. He added that he trusted that Cr Haythornthwaite would do a great job for the district of Quairading.

ITEM 6 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil

ITEM 7 CLOSURE

Cr Haythornthwaite thanked the Acting Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Officer for their efforts in facilitating and organising this Special Council Meeting to elect the Shire President and Deputy Shire President.

Cr Haythornthwaite further welcomed Cr Faltyn to Council and thanked the previous Shire President, Cr Smith, for his efforts over the previous two years.

Cr Haythornthwaite also thanked all Councillors for their attendance on the day and added that she was looking forward to an enjoyable, rewarding and hard working two years.

There being no further business, the Chairperson closed the meeting at 6.32pm.